UFU urges members to contact MLAs about climate change

Friday, 21 January, 2022

The Ulster Farmers’ Union (UFU) is urging members to contact their local MLAs, highlighting their concerns regarding the two climate change Bills that have now finished the committee stage at Stormont and progress to Consideration Stage for wider scrutiny within the Assembly.

The Executive’s Climate Change No. 2 Bill will come first to the floor on 1 February, when MLAs will debate and vote on each clause of the proposed legislation. It is vital that members continue to raise concerns in the legislative process. The Clare Bailey Climate Change No. 1 Bill would decimate the local agri-food sector with 86% reduction in cattle and sheep and 11% in pigs and poultry needed to hit the targets in that Bill. This is totally unacceptable.

The UFU supports the need to address global warming and to reduce emissions in Northern Ireland (NI), however, any targets for NI must be based on credible expert led advice such as those in the Executive’s Climate Change No. 2 Bill.

The UFU is encouraging members to play their part by sending an email/contacting their local MLAs, Councillors, and MPs from all political parties directly, making their voices heard before the next debate on 1 February. 

Below is a template letter that you can use, please amend as necessary and make more relevant to your farm business – this is only a guide. It is important to include your full name and address in the email so they can see that you reside in their constituency.

The PDF email template can be downloaded by clicking here.

The word email template can be downloaded by clicking here.

The PDF contact detail list can be downloaded by clicking here. 

Please contact the UFU if you require any other assistance (Aileen Lawson - alawson@ufuhq.com). 

 

Below is a list of MLAs and their contact details. 

East Belfast constituency

Mr Andy Allen, East Belfast - Ulster Unionist Party

02890463900 / andy.allen@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Ms Joanne Bunting, East Belfast - Democratic Unionist Party

02890 797100 / joanne.bunting@co.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mrs Naomi Long, East Belfast - Alliance Party

naomi.long@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Chris Lyttle, East Belfast - Alliance Party

028 9047 2004 / chris.lyttle@co.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Robin Newton, East Belfast - Democratic Unionist Party

028 9045 9500 / robin.newton@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

North Belfast constituency

Ms Paula Bradley, North Belfast - Democratic Unionist Party

02890 830066 / paula.bradley@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr William Humphrey, North Belfast - Democratic Unionist Party

02890744008 - william.humphrey@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Gerry Kelly, North Belfast - Sinn Féin

028 9521 5649 / gerry.kelly@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / gerry.kelly@sinnfein.ie

 

Ms Nichola Mallon, North Belfast - Social Democratic and Labour Party

02895150100 / nichola.mallon@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Ms Carál Ní Chuilín, North Belfast - Sinn Féin

02890740817 / caral.nichuilin@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / caral.nichuilin@sinnfein.ie

 

South Belfast constituency

Ms Clare Bailey, South Belfast, Green Party

028 9031 4455 / clare.bailey@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Ms Paula Bradshaw, South Belfast - Alliance Party

028 9032 8162 / paula.bradshaw@allianceparty.org

 

Ms Deirdre Hargey, South Belfast - Sinn Féin

028 90 243 194 - deirdre.hargey@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / sandebelfastsinnfein@gmail.com

 

Mr Matthew O'Toole, South Belfast - Social Democratic and Labour Party

02890233344 / matthew.otoole@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Christopher, South Belfast - Democratic Unionist Party

02890315329 / christopher.stalford@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

West Belfast constituency

Mr Gerry Carroll, West Belfast - People Before Profit Alliance

02890 231628 / gerry.carroll@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Ms Órlaithí Flynn, West Belfast - Sinn Féin

02890611176 / orlaithi.flynn@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / colinsinnfein@yahoo.ie

 

Mr Fra McCann, West Belfast - Sinn Féin

02890508989 / fra.mccann@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Alex Maskey, West Belfast - Sinn Féin

02890808404 / alex.maskey@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / connollyhouse@sinnfein.ie

 

Mr Pat Sheehan, West Belfast - Sinn Féin

02890613894 - pat.sheehan@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / patsheehansf@gmail.com

 

East Antrim constituency

Mr Roy Beggs, East Antrim - Ulster Unionist Party

02893362995 / roy.beggs@btopenworld.com

 

Mr Stewart Dickson, East Antrim - Alliance Party

02893350286 / stewart.dickson@allianceparty.org

 

Mr David Hilditch, East Antrim - Democratic Unionist Party

02893329980 / david.hilditch@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Gordon Lyons, East Antrim - Democratic Unionist Party

02828267722 / gordon.lyons@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr John Stewart, East Antrim - Ulster Unionist Party

028 28272644 / john.stewart@mla.niassembly.gov.uk 

 

North Antrim constituency

Mr Jim Allister, North Antrim - Traditional Unionist Voice

028 256 40250 / info@jimallister.org

 

Mr Paul Frew, North Antrim - Democratic Unionist Party

02825659800 / paul.frew@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Philip McGuigan, North Antrim - Sinn Féin

02827657198 / philip.mcguigan@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / philipmcguigan@hotmail.com

 

Mr Mervyn Storey, North Antrim - Democratic Unionist Party

028 2766 9753 / mervyn.storey@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Robin Swann, North Antrim - Ulster Unionist Party

02825659595 /robin.swann@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

South Antrim constituency

Dr Steve Aiken, South Antrim - Ulster Unionist Party

02893344966 / steve.aiken@co.niassembly.gov.uk

   

Mr John Blair, South Antrim - Alliance Party

028 9084 0930 / john.blair@allianceparty.org

 

Mrs Pam Cameron, South Antrim - Democratic Unionist Party

02890 342234 / pam.cameron@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Trevor Clarke, South Antrim - Democratic Unionist Party

028 9446 3273 / trevor.clarke@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Declan Kearney, South Antrim - Sinn Féin

02894548166 / declan.kearney@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / southantrimsinnfein@gmail.com

 

Lagan Valley constituency

Mr Robbie Butler, Lagan Valley - Ulster Unionist Party

07915020777 - robbie.butler@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Pat Catney, Lagan Valley - Social Democratic and Labour Party

02892 528203 / pat.catney@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Paul Givan, Lagan Valley - Democratic Unionist Party

02892661100 / paul.givan@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Trevor Lunn, Lagan Valley - Independent

028 9267 1177 / trevor.lunn@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Edwin Poots, Lagan Valley - Democratic Unionist Party

edwin.poots@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

North Down constituency

Mr Alan Chambers, North Down - Ulster Unionist Party

02891477555 / alan.chambers@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Stephen Dunne, North Down - Democratic Unionist Party

02890423322 / Stephen.Dunne@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Alex Easton, North Down - Democratic Unionist Party

02891889620 / alex.easton@mla.niassembly.gov.uk  

 

Mr Andrew Muir, North Down - Alliance Party

02895442944 / office@andrewmuir.net

 

Miss Rachel Woods, North Down – Green party

028 91273327 / rachel.woods@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

South Down constituency

Ms Sinéad Bradley, South Down - Social Democratic and Labour Party

02841754000 / sinead.bradley@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Ms Sinéad Ennis, South Down- Sinn Féin

028 4175 4448 / sinead.ennis@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / sinead1974@hotmail.com

 

Mr Colin McGrath, South Down - Social Democratic and Labour Party

028 43 798350 / colin.mcgrath@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Ms Emma Rogan, South Down - Sinn Féin

02844614405 / emma.rogan@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Jim Wells, South Down - Democratic Unionist Party

02841 769900 / jim.wells@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Upper Bann constituency

Mr Doug Beattie, Upper Bann - Ulster Unionist Party

02838 350 004 / doug.beattie@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Jonathan Buckley, Upper Bann - Democratic Unionist Party

028 38 894477 / jonathan.buckley@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mrs Dolores Kelly, Upper Bann - Social Democratic and Labour Party

028 3832 2140 / dolores.kelly@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mrs Diane Dodds, Upper Bann - Democratic Unionist Party

02840520048 / diane.dodds@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr John O'Dowd, Upper Bann - Sinn Féin

02838349675 / john.odowd@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / johnodowdupperbann@gmail.com

 

Strangford constituency

Ms Kellie Armstrong, Strangford

02891811414 / kellie.armstrong@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Harry Harvey, Strangford - Democratic Unionist Party

07590742280 / harry.harvey@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Miss Michelle McIlveen, Strangford - Democratic Unionist Party

02891871441 - michelle.mcilveen@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Mike Nesbitt, Strangford - Ulster Unionist Party

028 9182 1587 /mike.nesbitt@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Peter Weir, Strangford, Democratic Unionist Party

02891810858 / peter.weir@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Newry and Armagh constituency

Mr Cathal Boylan, Newry and Armagh - Sinn Féin

02837511797 / cathal.boylan@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / cathalboylansf@gmail.com / armaghsinnfein@gmail.com

 

Mr William Irwin, Newry and Armagh - Democratic Unionist Party

028 38870500 / william.irwin@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Ms Liz Kimmins, Newry and Armagh - Sinn Féin

02830261693 / liz.kimmins@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Justin McNulty, Newry and Armagh - Social Democratic and Labour Party

02830267933 / justin.mcnulty@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Conor Murphy, Newry and Armagh - Sinn Féin

02830861948 / conor.murphy@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / conormurphysf@gmail.com

 

East Derry/Londonderry constituency

Dr Caoimhe Archibald, East Derry/Londonderry - Sinn Féin

02877742488 / caoimhe.archibald@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / caoimhearchibald@gmail.com

 

Mr Maurice Bradley, East Derry/Londonderry – Democratic Unionist Party

07833207015 / eastldup@gmail.com

 

Mr George Robinson, East Derry/Londonderry – Democratic Unionist Party

02877 769191 / george.robinson@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Cara Hunter, East Derry/Londonderry - Social Democratic and Labour Party

02870348933 / Cara.Hunter@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Ms Claire Sugden, East Derry/ Londonderry – Independent

028 7032 7294 / claire.sugden@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Foyle constituency

Mr Pádraig Delargy, Foyle - Sinn Féin

028 713 77551 / padraigdelargy7@gmail.com

 

Mr Mark Durkan, Foyle - Social Democratic and Labour Party

02871365516 / markh.durkan@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Ms Sinead McLaughlin, Foyle - Social Democratic and Labour Party

02871162900 / sinead.mclaughlin@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Gary Middleton, Foyle - Democratic Unionist Party

02871346271 / gary.middleton@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Ms Ciara Ferguson, Foyle - Sinn Féin

028 713 77551 / Ciara Ferguson fergusonciara@hotmail.com

 

Fermanagh and South Tyrone constituency

Mrs Rosemary Barton, Fermanagh and South Tyrone - Ulster Unionist Party

02866 322 028 / rosemary.barton@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Ms Jemma Dolan, Fermanagh and South Tyrone - Sinn Féin

028 6638 6214 / jemma.dolan@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mrs Deborah Erskine, Fermanagh and South Tyrone - Democratic Unionist Party

028 66320722 / deborah.erskine@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Colm Gildernew, Fermanagh and South Tyrone

colm.gildernew@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / sf.dungannon@gmail.com

 

Ms Áine Murphy, Fermanagh and South Tyrone - Sinn Féin

02867721642 / aine.murphy@mla.niassembly.gov.uk  / sf.lisnaskea@gmail.com

 

Mid Ulster constituency

Mr Keith Buchanan, Mid Ulster - Democratic Unionist Party

02879300295 /keith.buchanan@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Ms Linda Dillon, Mid Ulster - Sinn Féin

02887748689 / linda.dillon@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Patsy McGlone, Mid Ulster - Social Democratic and Labour Party

02886758175 / patsy.mcglone@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mrs Michelle O'Neill, Mid Ulster - Sinn Féin

028 8627 7680 / michelle.oneill@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Ms Emma Sheerin, Mid Ulster - Sinn Féin

02879644550 / emma.sheerin@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / gulladuffsinnfein@gmail.com

 

West Tyrone constituency

Ms Nicola Brogan, West Tyrone - Sinn Féin

02882253040 / nicola.brogan@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / nicolabrogan.sfmla@gmail.com

 

Mr Thomas Buchanan, West Tyrone, Democratic Unionist Party

02882 247702 / thomas.buchanan@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Declan McAleer, West Tyrone - Sinn Féin

02882253040 / declan.mcaleer@mla.niassembly.gov.uk / declanmcaleer@ymail.com 

 

Mr Daniel McCrossan, West Tyrone - Social Democratic and Labour Party

02871882828 / daniel.mccrossan@mla.niassembly.gov.uk

 

Mr Maolíosa McHugh, West Tyrone - Sinn Féin

02871886464 / maoliosa.mchugh@mla.niassembly.gov.uk