UFU recognises top silage growers

Wednesday, 5 March, 2014

The Ulster Farmers’ Union have recognised Northern Ireland’s top silage growers of 2013 as the UFU and Sponsors Ecosyl Products Ltd and John Thompson & Sons hosted their Annual Silage Competition awards ceremony in the Hilton hotel, Templepatrick.

David and Steven Jackson of the North Down Group (Dairy), Alan Beattie of the North Antrim Group (Beef and Sheep) and Robin Macauley of the Mid Down Group (Alternative Forage) took top honours in the competition which saw a record number of entries from farmers in each of the UFU’s twenty-five groups. 

UFU Deputy President Barclay Bell said; “The UFU’s annual silage competition has always encouraged excellence and healthy competition among producers and despite enduring very challenging silage making conditions at the beginning of 2013, the competition entries was once again of the highest standard.  Our sponsors, CAFRE, UFU Group Managers and most importantly the farmers have worked hard on ensuring we had a great competition and I would like to thank them all for the positive way in which they participated.” 

Speaking on behalf of the sponsors Ecosyl Products Ltd and John Thompson & Sons Derek Nelson said; “We saw some exceptional silage despite the difficult start to the year.  Good forage is crucial for our industry and the winners can be rightly proud of their efforts.  We are delighted to be sponsoring such a progressive event.”

Competition judge Ann Brown from CAFRE stated; “The winning farmers’ focus on silage quality, effluent control and farm safety was excellent and despite the difficult start to the year, the dry summer provided the perfect opportunity for quality silage to be harvested and it was a pleasure to visit so many excellent and positive farm businesses.”

The full list of winners is: 

Dairy class
1st D & S Jackson, UFU North Down Group
2nd Alan Wallace, UFU South Antrim Group
3rd Robin Macauley, UFU Mid Down Group 

Beef & Sheep
1st Alan Beattie, UFU North Antrim Group 
2nd Alistair Dale, UFU Mid Antrim Group
3rd Roger Bell, UFU Ballyclare Group 

Alternative forage 
1st Robin Macauley, UFU Mid Down Group
2nd Kenny Malcomson, UFU South West Down Group
3rd David Throne, UFU North Tyrone Group

Photo Caption: The winners of the 22nd UFU annual Silage Awards sponsored by John Thompson and Sons and Ecosyl. Pictured L-R is Johnny McCaughan, John Thompson and Sons; Derek Nelson, Ecosyl; Dairy winner David Jackson; Alternative Forage winner Robin Macauley; Beef and Sheep winner Alan Beattie; UFU Deputy President Barclay Bell; and Gordon Donaldson.